N.C. DMV to assist voters with IDs

The North Carolina DMV says it will begin issuing free photo IDs in January to assist voters with the new election law. Voters will have to present approved identification at the polls beginning in 2016. The DMV says the IDs are 10 dollars, but they will waive the charge for those cannot afford the fee. Marge…

Read more »

WNC resident Stuart wins gold at kayaking championships

Last week, Western North Carolina got to show thousands of visitors why it is a destination for outdoor recreation with the ICF Canoe Freestyle World Championships at the Nantahala Gorge. Local resident, 17-year-old Rowan Stuart, of Stecoah, shined during the competition as she won gold in the junior women’s kayak competition. Stuart edged out competitors…

Read more »

Franklin holds off TC in a thriller

The Franklin Panther football team improves to 2-0 on the season as they hold off TC Roberson on Friday night 35-31. The game was close for all four quarters with both teams putting up a lot of offense. Franklin’s Luke Keener passed for 219 yard with two touchdowns. TC’s Reggie Pinner hurled for a school…

Read more »

Macon County crime rate follows state trend

North Carolina’s crime rate is at the lowest rate since 1976—this according to a new report out from the state Attorney General’s Office. The overall rate fell 4.4 percent in 2012—but there was a slight uptick the rate of violent crime statewide. Attorney General Roy Cooper said while the state’s property crime rate was down…

Read more »

Town board update

Franklin aldermen voted unanimously Monday, September 3, to renew the contract with its legal counsel. The contract says attorney John Henning Jr. will be retained for the next three years—he will be compensated $150 an hour for legal services. The town will have a one-year renewal option once the three-year contract expires. Pauline Avenue In…

Read more »

Principal, Teacher of the Year named

Macon County Schools has announced the Principal and Teacher of the Year for 2013-2014. Melissa Faetz, at South Macon Elementary School, was selected as the Macon County Schools Teacher of the Year. Shirley Parks, at East Franklin Elementary School, was named the Principal of the Year. Congratulations to Ms. Parks and Ms. Faetz for their contributions…

Read more »

Macon County Weather

Community Calendar

  • October 30, 2014 6:00 pmFREE MEAL AT "THE SERVING SPOON"
  • October 31, 2014 5:30 pmAMERICAN LEGION BINGO
  • November 6, 2014 6:00 pmFREE MEAL AT "THE SERVING SPOON"
  • November 7, 2014 5:30 pmAMERICAN LEGION BINGO
AEC v1.0.4

Images of Macon