Communities recognized for efforts to improve Macon Co

Young Man and Young Woman of the Year 2012 from left to right:
Lexie Edwards and Tim Rodriguez of Clark’s Chapel; Chelsea Passmore and Tanner Shepherd of Cowee.

On Tuesday, October 23, the Macon County Community Development Council held its annual awards dinner to recognize the individual community development organizations and their accomplishments for this year. Representative of each community organization spoke on the past years achievements and their future plans.

Community Development is a program facilitated by the North Carolina Cooperative Extension Service. Its purpose is to create formal community organizations in individual communities that allow members to combine their efforts in an organized manner for the benefit of the community. The first Community Clubs in Macon County were formed in 1952. The Community Development Council consists of representatives from each of nine participating communities.

This year’s awards consisted of grants to organized communities for the purpose of continuing to improve their community. Receiving the awards were: Upper Cartoogechaye, Otto, Nantahala, Holly Springs, Cullasaja, Clarks Chapel, Cowee, Carson and Pine Grove communities. Each of these communities meet monthly to plan and carry out educational programs and service activities that help to make their communities a better place to live.

Each community also has the opportunity to recognize individuals for doing outstanding work in their community. This year, the Clarks Chapel Community named Tim Rodriguez as Young Man of the Year and Lexie Edwards as Young Woman of the Year. Cowee community named Tanner Shepherd as Young Man of the Year and Chelsea Passmore as Young Woman of the Year.

Adult leadership awards were also presented. Named as Man of the Year and Woman of the Year were: Steve Waldroop and Joyce Coggins of Carson Community; Edwin Cabe and Susie McCoy of Clarks Chapel; Stacy Guffey and Frankabelle Scruggs in Cowee; and Isaac and Virginia Dills of Pine Grove Community.